2016 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

Commonwealth Scholarships for Doctor of Philosophy and Master’s education in the United Kingdom are available for natives and citizens of developing Commonwealth countries. These grants are endowments from the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the purpose of donating to the UK’s international development goals and broader international pursuits, promoting quality in UK higher education, and keeping up the doctrines of belief of the Commonwealth.
Pupils and students from Third World nations who do not have the capability of studying in the UK can fill out an application for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Master’s study, supported in partnership by UK universities.

Purpose: To help in fulfilling the needs of Commonwealth countries by making technical training available for skilled and qualified professionals and academics who do not have the means and capacity to study in the UK.

Beneficiaries:  postgraduate students who excel in their fields and who do not have extensive overseas study experience yet, who would not have the opportunities to have a study program in the UK, and who have the prospective to increase the growth and progress of their native countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are given to selected taught Master’s courses, and are normally supportable for one year only. The scholarships exclude undergraduate courses, PhD study, or any pre-sessional English language studies.


To be eligible for these scholarships, you must have the following requirements:

  • Be a citizen of the Commonwealth, or a refugee, or a British protected person
  • Be a permanent resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be ready to begin your scholastic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2016
  • By August 2016, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
  • Be incapable, either yourself or through your family members, to financially afford to study in the UK

The CSC promotes equal opportunity, gender equity, and cultural exchange. Requests for applications are encouraged from a diverse range of applicants. The CSC has a commitment to the administration and management of its scholarships and fellowships in a fair and transparent manner.

Selection process

Each involved UK university will perform its own enrolment procedure in selecting a specified amount of applicants for Shared Scholarships. Universities have to give their selected applicants to the CSC by 29 April 2016. The CSC will verify that these applicants are eligible based on the criteria for this scheme. Universities will notify applicants of their results by July 2016.
Selection criteria include:

  • Academic merit of the applicant
  • Possible effect of the work on the development of the applicant’s home country.

How to apply

You should apply to study a qualified  Master’s course at a UK university that is taking part in the Shared Scholarship scheme. Click here for a list of participating universities and eligible courses
You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Click here for full information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides. www.scholarship-nigeria.com
Before applying, you must check with your UK university for their specific advice and rules for applying, and for their own closing date for applications. Click here for a list of contact details
You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the EAS to your UK university or applications directly from individuals.

2016 Application Details (here)

Application Deadline
All applications must be submitted by 23.59 (BST) on 1 April 2016 at the latest. Each university has its own closing date for applications, and most fall before 1 April 2016. You must submit your application by the date advised by your UK university. How to access the EAS

 Kindly Click Here to Visit and Like our Facebook Page or follow us on TWITTER (@scholarshipNG), BB Channel (C001A507B)  for prompt updates on more opportunities.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *